Generation Z is a conditionally distinguished group of people who were born in the mid to late 1990s. They are already taking their first steps into adulthood, inventing new ways to solve vital tasks, following their predecessors - Millennials, or generation Y, were born between 1981 and 2000. First of all, both of them are united by their involvement in digital technologies. 

Technologies at the edge of Millennium

The Millennial generation took an active part in creating new directions and disciplines, surprisingly combining the progressive best practices of the future with an extensive layer of knowledge in various fields from history to art. However, generation Z, in the opinion of sociologists, has little interest in past developments. They are much more attracted to exclusively digital reality with its inherent rules and entertainment.

So, more than 90% of representatives of generation Z have smartphones, leave digital footprints, data on the requested information, visits and interests; approximately 50% live online 10 hours a day; more than 70% spend more than two hours a day on Youtube, and over 80% feel uncomfortable losing access to their gadgets.

These young people have technologies at their disposal of a higher magnitude than their predecessors, which has significantly affected their way of thinking. While the Millennials explore the world in search of idealistic concepts, trying not only to differentiate between reality and the virtual environment but to control it as well, Generation Z pragmatically focuses on making and saving money, searching for completely new authentic concepts and has no problems with the close interlocking of reality and life in an online mode.

Since about 2017, representatives of Generation Z, who are fully educated in the digital world and cannot imagine life without it, are making their way into labour markets. How can their values, preferences, and ways of thinking benefit the employer?

First of all, one should remember that, despite a great commitment to social networks, representatives of generation Z are distinguished by a high degree of sociability. Sociologists claim that more than 72% of these young people prefer to resolve issues in personal conversations. They are also distinguished by increased motivation and a willingness to work harder than their predecessors - drudgery (77%).

The main requirements of Generation Z are their own workspace, which is important for 69% of Generation Z, and the variety of tasks performed (75%). Interestingly, 30% of respondents said they would be willing to receive lower wages by working for honest companies with values they admire. Another survey showed that this group rated positive relationships at work as one of its top priorities. 

The favourite area of Generation Z is marketing. Representatives of this generation make up 25.9% of consumers, and it is expected that by 2020 their number will increase to 40% in all consumer markets. They know very well how to increase demand for products of young consumers like themselves. Digital marketing stands out here separately, due to the wide use of various communication channels for promoting products.

The CareerCast information platform provides a list of the best jobs for representatives of this generation:
  • Computer and information systems manager, information security analytics (by 2020, demand will increase by 37%)
  • Environmental engineer (demand for specialists in the development of pollution prevention measures, enterprise inspection, and project appraisal, environmental hazard assessment)
  • Interpreter or translator (expected growth of 29%)
  • Healthcare worker (up to 16%)
  • Statistician (the highest forecast from CareerCast is 34%)

All this should be taken into account both when entering employment and when searching for it. Due to the constant growth in the number of jobs, the new Z-graduates will not experience the stress that previous generations experienced in job searching. Many economists predict that unemployment will continue to decline or at least remain stable.

Activity
28 March
Saturday, 09:00
International networking educational forum ICEF Moscow 2020
Activity
15 March
Sunday, 12:00
Выставка "Высшее образование в России и за рубежом"

Поколение Z – условно выделяемая группа людей, чье рождение пришлось на период с середины 1990-х. Уже сейчас они делают первые шаги во взрослую жизнь, изобретая новые способы решения актуальных задач, вслед за своими предшественниками Millennials, или поколением Y, появившихся на свет с 1981 по 1996 годы. И тех и других объединяет вовлеченность в цифровые технологии.

Технологии на стыке тысячелетий 

Поколение Миллениума принимало активное участие в создании новых направлений, дисциплин, удивительным образом соединяя прогрессивные наработки будущего с обширным пластом знаний в различных сферах от истории до искусства. Тогда как поколение Z, по мнению социологов, мало интересуют наработки прошлого. Куда больше их увлекает исключительно цифровая реальность с присущими ей правилами и развлечениями. 

Так, более 90% представителей поколения Z владеют смартфонами, оставляют цифровые следы, данные о запрашиваемой информации, посещениях и интересах; примерно 50% живут в режиме онлайн по 10 часов в сутки; более 70% тратят больше 2 часов в сутки на Youtube; и свыше 80% чувствуют дискомфорт, теряя доступ к своим гаджетам. 

Эти молодые люди получили в свое распоряжение технологии на порядок выше, чем их предшественники, что заметным образом сказалось на способе их мышления. Пока Миллениалы исследуют мир в поисках идеалистических концепций,  стараясь не только разграничивать реальность и виртуальную среду, но и контролировать ее, поколение Z прагматично сосредотачивается на зарабатывании и экономии денег, поиске совершенно новых аутентичных концепций и не имеет никаких проблем с тесным переплетением действительности и жизни в режиме онлайн.

Примерно с 2017 года представители нового, полностью воспитанного в цифровом мире и не представляющего жизни без него, поколения Z штурмуют рынки труда. Как их ценности, предпочтения и образ мышления могут быть на руку работодателю?

В первую очередь следует помнить, что, несмотря на большую приверженность к социальным сетям, представители поколения Z отличаются высокой степенью коммуникабельности. Социологи уверяют, что, более 72% этих молодых людей предпочитают решать вопросы в личных беседах. Также их отличает повышенная мотивация и готовность работать усерднее своих предшественников – работа на износ (77%).

Основные требования поколения Z это собственное рабочее пространство, что важно для 69% поколения Z, и разнообразие выполняемых заданий (75%). Интересный факт: 30% опрошенных заявили, что они были бы готовы получать меньшую заработную плату, работая на честные компании с ценностями, которыми они восхищаются. Еще один опрос показал, что эта группа оценивает позитивные отношения на работе как один из своих главных приоритетов.

Излюбленной сферой поколения Z остается маркетинг. Представители этого поколения составляют 25,9% потребителей, и как ожидается, к 2020 году их число увеличится до 40% на всех рынках потребления. Они отлично знают, как повысить спрос на продукцию у таких же молодых потребителей, как они сами. Отдельно здесь выделяется цифровой маркетинг, ввиду широкого использования для продвижения продукции различных каналов коммуникации.

Информационная платформа CareerCast предоставляет следующий список лучших рабочих мест для представителей этого поколения:

  • Менеджер по компьютерным и информационным системам, аналитика информационной безопасности (к 2020 спрос возрастет на 37%)
  • Инженер-эколог (спрос на специалистов по разработке мер по предотвращению загрязнения, инспекции предприятий и экспертизы проектов, оценка экологических опасностей)
  • Устный или письменный переводчик (ожидаемый рост 29%)
  • Медработник (до 16%)
  • Статистик (самый высокий прогноз от  CareerCast – 34%)

Все это следует учитывать как при приеме на работу, так и при ее поиске. Благодаря постоянному росту числа рабочих мест, новые Z-выпускники не будут испытывать стресс, который испытывали прошлые поколения при поиске работы. Многие экономисты прогнозируют, что уровень безработицы будет продолжать снижаться или, по крайней мере, оставаться стабильным.

смотрите также
все статьи
Мероприятия
28 марта
суббота, 09:00
Международная конференция в сфере образования ICEF 2020 в Москве
Мероприятия
15 марта
воскресенье, 12:00
Выставка "Высшее образование в России и за рубежом"